The Photographic Museum "Metenkov's house" is located in the center of Yekaterinburg, in the mansion, which belonged to the 1917 revolution photographer Benjamin Leontievich Metenkov (1857 - 1933). Almost four decades he with a camera in his hands traveled all over the Urals, has issued hundreds of cards and photo albums with the views of his native land, organized a successful trade apparatus, reagents, books and other photographic accessories. The museum attempts to read the history of the city through photography. The authors have tried to see in a photograph both document and artwork which are equally generating a unique image of the epoch. The leitmotif of the exhibition that links into a single unit all times and genres has become a theme about the relationship between the city and man. The museum was founded in 1993. Photographic exhibitions are displayed at the museum consistently, expositions are changing quite often, but there are several unchangeable - photos of Metenkov, as well as his family album, memories of the Sverdlovsk and photo of the Second World War.
The Yekaterinburg History Museum was established in 1939, opened in 1940 as a house-museum of Y. M. Sverdlov. Basis of his collection consisted of the funds of the Ural museum of revolution and biographical information about Y. M. Sverdlov. Among rare displays are: original photos, documents and books of the XIXth-XXth centuries, old coins, works of famous Urals artists such as Ernst Neizvestniy and Misha Brusilovskiy. During reorganization of the museum its name and a work direction were changed for several times. Since 1995 - the Yekaterinburg Museum of history. Today distinctive feature of the museum is the unique in the Urals waxworks' exposition of Peter I, Catherine I and Catherine II, founders of Yekaterinburg, the Ural industrialists Nikita and Akinfiya Demidovs, emperor Nikolay II and members of his family. In the Tower on the Dum ("Plotinka") - it's a branch of the Museum of history - in summertime there works an exposition - Metalnya lavka (Metal shop). Visitors can get acquainted with metal products of the last centuries. On December, 20th, 2006 the museum was opened after reconstruction. The reconstruction had been started since 2003, was very complex because the restored object - one of the oldest buildings of the city, being an architectural monument of the federal value. The house was constructed in 1820 and belonged to a postmaster Layshevskiy. In 1940 the museum was organized in this building. To get acquainted with a history of the Urals capital visitors of a museum will begin directly at the entrance. In a building ground floor - where the separate entrance group is organized - besides a cloakroom and a shop with souvenir production there is the exposition of "Yekaterinburg underground". Geological and archaeological monuments presented here will tell to people about "background" of a city.
The House-museum of the Writer P. P. Bazhov. Famous Ural writer had been living in this very house from 1911 till 1950. All his works were created here. In 1969 to the P. P. Bazhov's 90th anniversary in the house on Chapaev street, 11 was opened the memorial museum. The estate is preserved its unique atmosphere and inner design with original and full conditions of an office, a dining room, children's, kitchens, outdoor constructions and a garden where are still growing apple-trees, guelder-rose, bird cherry and a linden planted by the writer.
The Mamin-Sibiryak Literary Memorial Museum. This house was bought by the writer in 1885 on the fees received from the publication of the Privalovs' millions and the Mountain nest novels. The family of the writer - mother, the sister, brothers lodged in it. D. N. Mamin-Sibiryak constantly lived in the house of his wife, M. Y. Alekseeva, but came in this house every day and had there a study. He came there often even after moving to Petersburg. In a constant exposition of a museum are presented personal things of the writer, lifetime editions of books, letters and manuscripts and memorial interiors.
The House-museum of the Writer F .M. Reshetnikov was opened on October, 1, 1991 in the two-storied stone house where postmen rented accommodation in the XIX-th century. The literary part of the exposition is devoted to Feodor Reshetnikov's life (1841 - 1871) and his works. Visitors enjoy manuscripts and letters, memoirs and contemporaries' letters, glimpses of urban life and life of postal officials and coachmen, views of Yekaterinburg, Perm, Nizhny Tagil, and St. Petersburg. F. M.Reshetnikov was born in Yekaterinburg in a family of the traveling postman; therefore the ethnographic part of an exposition acquaints visitors with post service of the middle of a XIX-th century, with traditions and customs of Russian people and is an original monument of a road life in Russia of that time. As a basis for this part of an exposition served partially restored architecturally-spatial environment of a street and the post farmstead, representing the whole complex of constructions: the house, outdoor constructions (a stable, the coach maker, smithy), a court yard paved by the Urals granite and bordered with fencing with shod lattices, a gate, entrance collars, black-and-white milestones. In museum territory operates the smithy.
The Regional Museum of Natural History. The teacher of the Yekaterinburg man's grammar school Onisim Egorovich Kler (1845-1920) became the initiator of creation in Yekaterinburg the Urals society of natural sciences fans and a museum in it. He was a native of Switzerland, of the small settlement Korsel which were near to the city Nevshatel, since young years he was fond of natural sciences. The birth of the future Sverdlovsk regional museum of local history has occurred on December, 29th, 1870 (in old style and in new - on January, 10th) in assembly hall of the Yekaterinburg's man's grammar school, at constituent assembly of Urals Society of Local history lovers. The museum basis consisted from small gifts to a Society made by its founders. Within the first year of the museum existence four collections - zoological, mineralogical, paleontologic, botanical started to be formed. Today in the museum are presented the following collections:
The Museum of Ural Nature is a branch of The Regional Natural History Museum. Museum funds have unique entomological and paleontology collections. The Nature Museum has a rich collection of 60 000 exhibits that represents the main steps of the Ural nature development. The well-known exhibits from paleontology collection are skeleton of a platycerous deer, the skeleton of a mammoth, and a print of the spiral tooth device of a fossil shark. The zoological collection gathered several generations of talented taxidermists. Among exhibits it is possible to see a stuffed animal of an elk, a brown she-bear, a reindeer and a roe. The exposition is also decorated by the dioramas and a rare collection of relief pictures. The Yekaterinburg Museum of Fine Arts is one of the largest art museums of the Urals. The museum is located in a picturesque corner of a city - Historical square. It occupies two buildings: one of them - on the Voevodina street, 5, reconstructed from structures of 18 th century and the second - on Vaynera street, 11, constructed in 1914 under the project of architect K. T. Bobykin. The museum is one of the largest art centers of the Urals. It conducts active educational, collecting and scientific activity. Having received in 1986 a new spacious building, it could exhibit adequately the well-known Kaslinsk's cast iron pavilion which has received an award of the World Parisian exhibition in 1900. In the museum are annually presented about 50 replaceable exhibitions at which are exhibited products from museum funds, works of young artists of Yekaterinburg and well-known Ural masters. The exhibition devoted to the 125th anniversary of the native Yekaterinburg well-known Russian artist L. Turzhanskogo and the exhibition of a newly opened Russian avant-guard artist V. Denisov (1862-1922) whose works were collected by the Yekaterinburg collector E. Royzman became the large cultural project. The museum carries out multiplane international activity. Last year in cooperation with the Yekaterinburg art school and Diaghilev's lyc?e with support of the Moscow center of the modern art in the context of the international open-air-symposium was displayed the exhibition "the Live form" in which took part young artists from Germany and Greece, and also the well-known master of the Moscow underground F. Infante. Within last decade the museum actively cooperated with the British Council, Institute of Goethe and Institute the Open Society. The museum carries out also its own programs of the international exhibitions and supervises the international exchanges of the Yekaterinburg and English artists. The museum conducts active scientific and publishing. Now is caring out work on creation of the general catalog of museum funds, and are organizing scientific conferences. The appreciable trace in the Ural Art Studies was left by the conferences of Art metal of Ural Mountains and the Ural icon. In 2000 in a museum was organized the All-Russia conference devoted to 100th anniversary of Kaslinsk's cast-iron pavilion. It was accompanied by an exhibition devoted to creation and revival of a Kaslinsk's masterpiece. Within last decade in the museum has been carried out a work on studying of technological features of old masters painting. Its results bring the active contribution in attributive activity. At a museum there is a children's club Glowworm for preschool children and younger schoolboys in which young fans of art get acquainted with collections of a museum and operates, taking in hands paint and brush, comprehend skill elements. Club exhibitions are regularly organized in the museum halls.
Address: Russia, 620990, Yekaterinburg, 10km avtodorogi Yekaterinburg - a/p "Koltsovo", 15.
Multichannel phone: +7 (343) 259-35-35
Guest reception service: email@example.com
Group bookings: firstname.lastname@example.org
Ramada Spa: email@example.com
Events & Receptions: firstname.lastname@example.org
Le Vicomte Restaurant: email@example.com
Official hotel website